Does anyone shoot in B&W?

mercer

As anybody who reads my comments already know, I bought a 5D3 last Spring and instantly fell in love with the images I was getting. After almost two years of searching for the right camera for the stuff I was looking to shoot, I found it in the 5D3. 

But...

I am the first person to admit that the post process of ML Raw can be a little tedious and requires a massive amount of storage. Since I am a hobbyist with narrative dreams, I’ve been searching for a second camera to shoot fun little vignettes in between shooting days with my 5D3. Shooting is a form of meditation for me and instantly calms me.

After a couple of cameras, I ended buying an RX10ii on the cheap. Now I had the camera last year but struggled with getting good color from it. This time around, I’ve decided to mostly shoot in sLog2 and Cine2 with monochrome and I am pleasantly surprised by how good the images turned out on my first outing with it.

I’ve always loved B&W photos and movies, but I’ve never really shot much with it, so I look forward to learning and experimenting more with it.

Now, I have been posting around here for a few years and color science, correction and grading are all popular discussions but there is rarely mention of B&W.

Does anyone shoot in B&W anymore? Does anyone have any video or screengrabs that were captured in B&W or turned to B&W in post that they’d like to share? Or even strong opinions for or against it?

I’ll start off with a few screengrabs. The first two were shot in sLog2...

482FC33B-D72A-49CB-829B-C459EAE9372E.jpeg

064C2AB9-78DE-4264-9CA1-F4A5D0FB5B35.jpeg

And this one was shot in Cine2...

E932AC99-9DF7-416B-8338-E156E3C90E88.jpeg

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs