90-day free trail of FCPX or free editors?

Denist

Hi,

New there. I’m using the free version of Premiere Pro knowing it is illegal. (Sorry) As it is not an official release, there are lots of bugs and crashes.

And I happen to see that the FCPX now allows for a 90-day free trial.

https://www.apple.com/final-cut-pro/trial/

I can use Premiere to make some simple edits, so perhaps I’m not a complete novice on editing, but heard that the workflow of FCPX is very different from PR. I want to know it is worth to install and learn FCPX if (very possible) I won’t pay for FCPX once the trail ends.

Or I should go with some free editing software like DaVinci Resolve, HitFilm. I read lots of posts like:

https://www.oberlo.com/blog/best-free-video-editing-software

https://www.videoproc.com/video-editor/free-video-editors-software-review.htm

However, as you can see, there are too many options, the best 6/22/46 editors. Also, I don’t know whether I could trust those monetized sites or not. If set on free apps, which is your recommendation? Could you share with me some real use experience.

Thanks!!

I'm using HP ENVY X36 (Windows) + Macbook Pro 16(Almost forget) . BTW😨

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

What’s the point of learning FCP if you know or strongly suspect you will not buy it? Surely it’s more sensible to invest the time in learning Resolve - which is free. It’s a steep learning curve and I (a total amateur) find some things much easier in FCP (so I tend to use both). 
And I agree with @heart0less - Resolve is superb.

Does the free version of Resolve do 4K60p now? Last time I looked it didn't so never tried it.

On my Mac mini (i5) I use FCP and it always plays HEVC 4k60p smoothly at the viewer's

"better performance" setting. Maybe due to the mini's T2 chip acceleration for H265.

I expect FCP will always be optimized for performance on a Mac sooner than the non-Apple apps.