Will this old edit rig handle 4k prores?

Anaconda_

Hey all,

I'm looking to change my home editing setup. Will this work relatively well with Prores 4k footage? (Coming from atomos recorders and eventually the new BM cam.)

I can get it ridiculously cheap, but fear the system is simply too old to bother with. I get confused with all the numbers and versions on computer hardware, so like to double check haha.

A67F3E23-00E8-466F-9F2B-7C5C977BB32D.jpeg

D1F43047-3450-48B6-9DE1-6FFE37D15E45.jpeg

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

I'm no expert on Apple but that is 2009 model right? 100$ would be generous to pay, and you will pay that yearly in just electricity. And absolutely not worth to be upgraded. The RAM alone draws about 60W. *edit* jut to be clear, the first one you posted

What CPU does the 2nd one have?

Ok a quick look at model history and it seems that you need a 2010+ model with at least a better X5675 to get anywhere. And it's still a stretch since you don't have hardware acceleration to fall back on.

6 hours ago, no_connection said:

I'm no expert on Apple but that is 2009 model right? 100$ would be generous to pay, and you will pay that yearly in just electricity. And absolutely not worth to be upgraded. The RAM alone draws about 60W. *edit* jut to be clear, the first one you posted

What CPU does the 2nd one have?

Ok a quick look at model history and it seems that you need a 2010+ model with at least a better X5675 to get anywhere. And it's still a stretch since you don't have hardware acceleration to fall back on.

ProRes is designed to be very light on CPU & does a great job at the expense of larger files sizes but that first system is a 2006 Mac Pro 1,1 & will not be up to the task of 4K video even with a graphics card upgrade.