canon 600d/t3i + ML vs Nikon D5200

Shubhro

Hi,

I am a newbie from India. Got recently interested in cameras for video. Have been researching a lot about them on the internet. I am on the verge of buying my first one and the toss up is between canon 600d and nikon d5200. The T3i  comes with a double lens kit for roughly $573 and the Nikon is to be had for around $605 along with the standard kit lens. In both cases the body only versions do not come with enough price reduction.

In the prevailing Indian market, these are the only two which is within my affordable limit.

Now, what I plan to do with the camera I ultimtely buy is, shoot a lot of videos in different conditions to get some practice. And then start offering my services for free to my friends who plan to make short films.

I do not plan to buy extra lenses as I eventually would graduate to a BMPCC and further to a Panasonic GH4. I would rather Invest in MFT lenses at that time.

My questions are:

Does Magic Lantern add enough functionality to T3i to justify going for it?

I have read that Nikon's slow mo at 60fps is not good. How is the Canon's?

Please let me know. Any other information is also welcome.

Thanks,

Shubhro

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs