InspectUR Gadget

billdoubleu

As I'm still fairly new to the addiction of camera gear; I'm curious of what everyone does when they get a new lens.

If you're someone who buys cheap Chinese or vintage lenses, like me, the odds a getting a lemon seem high. What's your process after receiving a lens to make sure you have a good copy?

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

Sometimes a Good copy is not what you want. But the biggest risk is Fungus and that usually is a bummer. Not really easy, or maybe impossible to repair. Some of it really doesn't show up as much as you think. But it could contaminate the rest of your good lenses. I keep my old stuff in a separate bag from newer stuff. I don't even put newer lenses in an old camera bag I have bought or found used.

I'd suggest that you put it on the camera and:

• check the connection to the camera is mechanically sound
  • turn on the camera and if the lens is electronic then check that the connection is working
  • hit record
  • focus to infinity and check that you can get the horizon in focus (it might not be exactly at the infinity mark on the lens)
  • change the focus all the way to its nearest position and point the camera at something that distance away
  • do a similar test with testing the full range of the aperture from wide-open to fully closed
  • if it's a zoom lens, do a similar test with the full range of the zoom
  • then point it at something plain (a blue sky is useful) and close the aperture completely and do a full pass on the focus from near to far
  • if it has OIS or other buttons on it then test those functions
  • also test whatever automatic focus modes it has