Semi-Pro SoCal Colorists

fuzzynormal

So, I need a hand in grading my 30-minute doc.  I'd really like to hire someone with serious skills in coloring, but outside of the "biz," because I can't afford those types of rates...although I CAN afford to compensate reasonably.  Very indy, you know?  I've dabbled, but I tend to end up making stuff look somewhat ridiculous rather than polished, so I really need to rectify this issue.

Also, I'd love to watch the process and ask dumb-ass questions along the way so I can glean some knowledge.

I'm not sure if this sort of thing is an appropriate request, but it doesn't hurt to ask, so I'm asking.  And if this should be posted elsewhere, let me know.  

Are you self-taught and really good at coloring your own stuff, but would like to make some U.S. dolores showing an idiot how it's done on his short film?  Or, do you have a friend that's talented and is looking for a gig?  If so, I'd love to hear from you. 

Or...heck, even some advice would be appreciated...

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

You might be surprised from approaching an established post company or a professional colorist directly. Sometimes at post houses people get trained up on Baselight or Resolve by taking on lower budget/ indy projects to get more real-world project experience. No harm in asking nicely, you may get lucky.

I've seen it work before, some post companies are grateful if they can use it as a test project in their down time for a trainee or if it is an uncommon file format/camera for them to usually expect, sometimes it is good for them to test. I worked on a project a few years back where Technicolor did the Di for free, simply because they wanted to test how far lowlight 5Dmk2 footage could be manipulated (or not).

Pretty hilarious that a virtually zero budget short film could put 'color by Technicolor' on it's credits.