Audio questions

Inazuma

I'm currently writing a short series that I'll also be directing in the near future. Unfortunately I have very little knowledge of audio. I have got a Zoom H1, but I find its susceptibility to noise from handling or even wind on the body of the unit, not even the microphone, makes it off-putting to use.

Ok so first, what's the best shotgun mic I can get for around £100? Is it the Rode Videomic Pro?

How do you manage sound space? For example, if you have two characters at totally different positions in the frame and you have mic'd them individually, how do you get this across in the sound stage? Can it be done with Adobe software?

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

How do you manage sound space? For example, if you have two characters at totally different positions in the frame and you have mic'd them individually, how do you get this across in the sound stage? Can it be done with Adobe software?

Stereo should (like surround) be 'mono-compatible'. A sound event that comes from a point in space (or has very small dimensions) in most cases should be located in the middle (the center channel in 5.1 or equally balancedto left and right in stereo). Especially language. Exceptions are the extremes: Someone out of the frame shouts Hello Frank. Frank looks to the left.

Stereo (L.R) is perfect for a panorama of atmosphere, composed of very many sound events or i.e. continous traffic noise or foliage in the wind.

Ls and Rs are even more atmospheric.

To mix all these elements to the best effect, they should be recorded cleanly and seperately. It's easier to add something in post than to eliminate it where it's unwanted.

I'm currently writing a short series that I'll also be directing in the near future. Unfortunately I have very little knowledge of audio. 

Uh-oh... Well, you'd better get busy, then, before the actual directing begins.  ;)