Sony UWP-D11 wireless lav 1-day deal

salim

I'm new to all of these including sound. These lavs were recommended by @IronFilm and there is a 1-day sale on the at B&H: It's usually $529 but the sale if for $379

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1025751-REG/sony_uwp_d11_30_bodypack_lavalier_mic_eng_package.html

One thing you have to keep in mind, the sale is only for the 566 to 608 and 614 to 638 frequency units. The 600Mhz  are getting phased out in US, I believe. So I'm not 100% sure what it means for end-users. But something to keep in mind. 

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs
11 minutes ago, Kisaha said:

I am getting the lower end (470-530 something) just in case

That's what I got too. Channel 14/25. I got an open-box dual receiver version from Adorama and got a used transmitter from Roberts. Now looking for one more transmitter and I can shoot an entire 2 person dialogue without worrying about the sound boom person. At least that's my hope :)

With that setup, when you have dropouts, you will have dropouts in sound. This is a 1ch true diversity receiver. If you connect 2ch, then none is true diversity, so when one of the 2 antennas are not working properly, you will have issues on that said antenna (and the specific channel). 

Share your experiences as soon as you got them!

5 hours ago, IronFilm said:

Dunno. I have never used it. 
But I'll say personally I always use a wired boom myself. 
Although on very rare occasions when I've had a boom op under me then I've handed them a RodeLink Newshooter Kit to use with their boom. 

How do you like the Newshooter kit? I got it for this exact reason, but have yet to really try it out on a full day.

On 12/13/2017 at 3:04 AM, MurtlandPhoto said:

How do you like the Newshooter kit? I got it for this exact reason, but have yet to really try it out on a full day.