Cut the Middle Man - Looking for an Editor to team up with!

Liszon

Don't worry, I don't want to take over the local drug market.. I have been on this forum for some time, but probably I haven't introduced myself.

I am an amateur videographer and notorious camera geek, with a background in photography, who's now looking to find a similar minded amateur creative in London, with a main interest in video editing and post production. Basically we could freelance together, learn and progress to develop our style, which might lead to a long term collaboration and hopefully having our own production company at some point.

The thread title refers to one of those self claimed mega-dynamite media entrepreneurs who "never looks back" - you know someone who has a really sophisticated way to make you believe they give you an awesome opportunity to "break into the industry" - but in fact it's just a con trick to bag the profit on someone else's talent and hard labour. They might even have a contract from a big shot company, and throwing around with the brand makes you feel it's legit to steal your time in return for some peanuts and big promises. These are the people I want to avoid. These cheap wannabe producers, production managers or agents, whatever they call themselves.

So what we are looking for is to find our clients, work with them directly, ramp up the work ourselves. Even if we have to work for nothing we can do that on our own terms, under our own creative control, simply because we see something great in the project and like the people involved in it. Surely the big goal is to became absolute professionals financially as well, but right now what really attracts me is to experiment and get involved in creative adventures. The rest will come in good time probably.