Sony Alpha 1 (12bit ProRes RAW Atomos) vs RED KOMODO

Fox

Hi! I'm in the market for a new camera.

Can't decide between going for Sony Alpha 1 with Atomos 12 bit ProRes Raw recorder vs RED KOMODO

The only thing that seems a drawback with Sony for me is the E-mount and no possibility to use EF or PL lenses, otherwise I think all the other features (AF, IBIS, Photography etc...) seem to be the better offer for me. A7SIII is NOT an option, please don't refer to it in your answers as I am not interested.

I just CAN'T find any comparison online between the Sony A1 and the Red KOMODO. Anybody can help?

Thanks in advance

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

I

6 hours ago, Sharathc47 said:

What do you want to shoot?

Hi! Mostly indie narrative & commercial work. I work as a DP with RED & Alexa bodies on larger sets with crew but I’m looking for a lighter personal setup for side projects such as personal projects and/or videos for low-budget clients around. The photography features of the Sony Alpha does certainly look like a plus to me as a hobbyist but it will mainly be used for videography, on the other side Im a bit thrown off by the supposed lack of versatility of the e-Mount. I love RED codec but I just saw that atomos released and updated ninja with 8K external (ProRes) raw recording possibilities so it does makes the Sony with FF AF and IBIS look like an appealing option though. 

13 hours ago, Fox said:

supposed lack of versatility of the e-Mount.

Red komodo comes with RF mount which is also not so versatile. you need adapters for both cameras.

14 hours ago, Fox said:

8K external (ProRes) raw recording possibilities so it does makes the Sony with FF AF and IBIS look like an appealing option though. 

Sure it is. Other concerns i like to mention with sony cameras are... not so great color science, line skipping in 4k. 

But I would go with sony if photography is also a priority.