Trying to decide on my next camera - help

fjords

All, I am an amateur photographer/videographer and am trying to decide on my next camera purchase.  I have been researching for the last two to three months and frankly I am more confused now than when I started.  I did not find too many forums where they actually compare video quality of these cameras and that is why I am posting on this forum. 

Here is a brief profile about me.  Way back when, I used to have a half-way decent setup with a Canon Elan IIE and an Optura PI.  Ever since having kids, I unfortunately got into the pocket camera phase because of their convenience - currently have a Canon SX230.  I am looking to upgrade my equipment and am planning to buy a camera that will shoot good video.  I will be mostly doing travel photography and am big on convenience - I do not want to carry multiple lenses with me.  My budget is up to $1500.

Based on my research, I was initially planning to purchase the Sony RX100 II but then realized that I might need more zoom reach.  Subsequently, I decided that RX10 was the way to go (because of size, video/image quality) - until I read the article on EOSHD where apparently the RX10 video quality/encoder/bit rate is not that good and that a Canon G6 might be the way to go.

So, I started looking at the G6.  Upon further research, it seems that the G6 has been superseded by the GX7.  However, I could not find any comprehensive reviews of the GX7 video quality and whether the video is better than the G6.  Also, not sure whether I should consider a GH3 instead of a GX7.