Infinity Focus with Schneider Kreuznach Cinelux 2x Anamorphic projector lens

arant.joseph

Hello everyone,

I want to start off by saying that I am a hobbyist when it comes to anamorphic filmmaking, so please forgive my lack of expertise when it comes to questions.

I have been wanting to get into anamorphic film-making for a while, and I recently purchased a Schneider Kreuznach Cinelux 2x Anamorphic projector lens off of Craigslist.  Research seemed to point to this not being a great lens to adapt due to focusing challenges, but for $150, the price was too good to pass up.  I have successfully adapted the lens to work with my DSLR, see example below:

A couple of things you may notice about the demo clip:

• I purposely shot at f/2.8 with a ring light to test blooming and flair.  Flair is absent; you will see some organic blooming around the edges.  This blooming disappears at f/5.6.
  • I also shot at f/2.8 to test center sharpness.  Center sharpness at f/2.8 is very good (YouTube compression does not do this justice).  Center sharpness at f/5.6 is incredibly good.  Edge sharpness is not great, but also not too distracting IMHO.

Now on to my difficulty (of which I am really hoping someone here has guidance):