Zhiyun Crane Test

mojo43

So I got my Zhiyun Crane in the mail last week right before a shoot out West and I decided to leave my other stabilizer at home. Delivery was extremely quick with the priority shipping and the customer service on their Facebook site (messaged them) was fantastic. 

I had some small problems with the stabilizer, but all in all it is quite a step up over a steady cam. This is my first gimbal and I have to admit I wasn't really trying to keep it steady that much as I should have. It seems like it's magic (which it pretty much is), but you definitely still need to practice to make it perfect.

Let me know if you have any questions

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

Yes, nice job, I prefer tests under a variety of conditions and with different subject matter, so, well-done. I've been using my Crane every day now for a couple months, and I still haven't mastered the 'ninja' walk, so my footage is still a little bouncy, Also, I have a bad habit of swinging the gimbal a little, for example, when walking on the sidewalk and aiming the camera at people sitting in the park. I wish there was someone here (in Vietnam) who could show me the proper handling. I've also noticed that, even after calibrating the Crane, the camera is sometimes a fraction off of level, but ever so slightly. Finally, the roll axis has a habit of coming unbalanced and I have to rebalance the camera from time to time. I think the spring that holds the arm in place when tightening the screw has loosened or something, but I'm not sure. Anyhow, I'm still quite happy with it, I just have to learn how to move with it.

So my problems were,

1) The same thing that jonpais mentioned. The axis is slightly off so I had to recalibrate