Canon 24mm f/2.8 STM for Phots & video (lowlight especially)

Lindopski

Good Morning guys

I have just bought this lens (not arrived yet), after watching a few reviews on you tube etc.

I am still learning how to utilise my Canon 800D/T7i to its full potential as I have previously used full Auto.

I am slowly getting used to the various settings etc and I have managed to somehow take a few photographs in daylight that are ok and a few in the evening/night that have come out reasonable.

Nothing show winning but better than a blurred mess (mostly) 😀

I tend to take a lot of what I suppose are classed as street photography and I also find that a lot of my images are night time as I work all day and take the camera out when the sun goes down.

I also have been filming using a cheap GOpro copy called an Akaso EK7000 and to be fair to the little thing it has served me really well during the daylight hours, its quality is good, not superb but passable for sure.

Night however it is not that great and this led me to trying out the Video setting on my canon for the first time and thinking that its actually quite good. Again I am not really used to it yet, I have just tried 24/5 fps at 1/50 and try to keep the ISO low as possible.

I have been using my Tamron zoom lens 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 and that has been smashing but I watched a few videos online and this little Canon 24mm pancake lens sounded quite good. It will be far lighter for a start weight wise and also has f/2.8 so I believe will perform well in low light situations.

A few people seem to be using it for street images and film.

Do any of you guys use this lens and if so what do you think and also have you any tips for both Photography and Video using this lens. My one concern is a lack of an image stabiliser as lowlight handheld will be blurred and video will be shaky, so may need to take my lightweight tripod with me on walks (its always in the car anyway)