Noobie needs expert opinion on green screen build cost...

jamest

Hi guys,

I don't know whether I have posted this in the appropriate forum so apologize if it is misplaced...

I am a complete noob with digital video but essentially am interested in learning the bare minimum and acquiring the necessary equipment to create a green screen video of a certain standard and style...

Specifically, I would be most grateful if someone with expertise could comment on what sort of budget and equipment I would need to create a video, very similar in content/style (I.e. range/extent of movement of subjects) and video quality standard to what these guys produce:

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

I don't think they're using a green screen.  

If you go on amazon you'll find fairly inexpensive portable green screens.  You can get draped material but I would suggest one of the flexible kind instead because you'll still have something portable and easily stored but the flexi versions won't give you problems with wrinkles.

Virtually any decent DSLR will let you do green screen keys good enough for web content.  What will make a bigger difference will be the keying software.  Primatte from Red Giant is a good option here.

First, I would strongly urge any self professed "noob" to stay away from shooting raw video, which it appears you're alluding to with your use of "hack" for the 50D.  The high bitrate you're describing isn't from slightly increased AVCHD performance.  So, shooting AVCHD, you could pretty much, if you wanted Canon, get by with a T3i or second hand 7D, or second hand 5D, etc.  Then, later, when you're more comfortable, you could consider a hacked camera.