After all those gh4 v-log and NX1 H.265 support on premiere, how do these 2 stands compared to A7S?

Milton Lopes

Good evening, guys!

I'm new to the forum, and besides reading lots of posts here, thats my first post.

I'm a brazilian low budget filmmaker looking towards buying a new camera and got a few points in wich i think you guys can help me haha

By now i own only a Canon 600d i bought three years ago. Altought i've never had any complain from my clients when i do events or corporate things, the compression and the low light performance of the camera simply makes me sick when i'm doing my own stuff :'c I know thats not the best camera out there, but the cameras picetags here are not that friendly (an a7s body in sony's official store here costs the equivalent of $3200...) and that was the best i could afford back on 2012 when i was starting doing my first shorts.

I've read a lot of things here and at other sites, and i'm really impressed by the a7s. I usually do documentaries and some run n gun stuff, and that dynamic range and low light perfomance sounds like heaven for me that most of times shoot in places where i have no control over lighting. The gradeability of s-log2 its one of my concerns, but i dont think it may be soooooo much worst than grading the sony handycam shoots i'm used to grade where i work (oh that skins tones that makes everybody look like they're sick :C).

Well, i was almost sure i'd rather go with the a7s besides its price tag, work only with 1080p by now and let the 4k as an future upgrade when i can afford a pix-e5, but then came V-log for GH4 and h.265 at premiere and then i ask myself again, the dynamic range and low light of the a7s is really worth a price tag difference that, here,is enough for buyng the rokinon 3 lens kit?