Suggestions for my Next Lens

jmlew

Hello. I am fairly new to shooting dslr video. For the past several months, I've been shooting with a Canon t3i // Canon 50mm f/1.8. I'm now looking into wider (budget-ish) lenses. Obviously there are some really really nice ones I could get for $1000+, but for right now I'm looking for something a little cheaper. 

The main two I've been looking at are the Sigma 17-50mm f2.8 and the Sigma 30mm f1.4. My main concern with the 17-50mm is that I'm not going to be satisfied with the f2.8 and might want something even faster. I want my shots to look very cinematic and professional, which this may be a good lens for that, I don't know. My concern with the 30mm is that it won't be wide enough. I don't like how close up my 50mm is on a glidecam, when I shoot outside and want to get a wide shot of the landscape or something. I'm just not sure that the 30mm will be THAT different from the 50mm.

Working on a tight budget, I need my lenses to be usable for many different things until I can build up my inventory. The kinds of videos I would shoot are promo videos and weddings, mostly, but I also want to shoot videos of outdoor adventures I go on.  

I plan on renting lenses before I make a final decision, but I wanted to get some input before I even did that.

Thanks for your help in advance,

Josh

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

Hi Josh, for a long time -- I shot with the same t2i/50mm combo like you!  

Do you have room in your budget for something like the Tamron 24-70? It's about $1,300 at Amazon and is similar to the Canon variation, including image stabilization. The Sigma is a little wider -- but if you are hunting for the cinematic, you'll probably find it more at long end of the Tamron. (With the T3i crop, you are getting close to 100mm, which is -- yay!) In fact, a Tokina 11-16 would be a great investment when you definitely want a wide lens.