ND filter for Voigtlander 42.5 0.95

Aitor

Hi all,

I am new to videography (until now I had only focused on photography as an amateur) and I am in search of an nd filter for my amazing voigtlander 42.5 0.95. I am reading reviews on different websites but impossible to conclude anything. My main goal is to be able to shoot wide open in daylight (I live in Spain) at shutter speeds between 1/50 and 1/100 of a second. Some people say we shouldn´t buy a variable nd filter as it affects image much more than a normal nd filter. In case of not buying a variable nd filter, which nd filter would I need? How many stops? Can you recommend a variable nd filter below 100 euros that does not degrade image quality too much? Also, I remember hearing the amazing Brandon Li saying he did not use nd filters and would add motion blur in post... I don´t know if you have experience on that...

Thank you for your help and sorry for these amateur questions, I understand most of you are expert videographers and will find this of no interest.

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

Yes, I have a Haida x64 (nd1.8) for this lens.  Not great, not bad.  It's not completely color-neutral, but it's also not obnoxious either.  Better than the greenish tints from Tiffen and not warm-ish like a B&W. (which I actually like)  FWIW, you're not going to get a budget ND that's color-neutral.

I've often debated about buying a serious pro-level set of 4x4 filters and a universal matte-box thingy so I can use the same set across my entire range of lenses, but that sort of rig just doesn't fit my shooting style.  The other option is to buy a set of 77mm filters and then just use a bunch of step-up rings for your various glass sizes.  Of course, doing this would then require a french flag for blocking sun glare...so trade-offs all around.