GH5 & compressed 10 bits - Any gain ?

OliKMIA

I got a GH5 and I love it. However I always had doubts about the 10bits thing. What's the point of 4K in 10 bits with such a low bitrate ?

Of course I'm aware of the incoming 400mbps upgrade but this bitrate will use a less efficient compression mode. In other word the bitrate will be higher but the compression will be less efficient, so back to square one (even though it will surely help for editing, All-I being less intensive for the computer)

- Right now the 150mbps 10bits mode uses the IPB (interframe) compression method

- The new 400mbps 10bits will use the All-I (intraframe) compression method

After doing a few grading tests I was not able to see any clear difference between the 8 bits and 10 bits modes unless I pushed the slider to unreasonable ends, in any case, both image were unusable at this point.

Just to be clear, I really like the GH5, no regrets here. I'm also not a pro colorist. So what do you guys think based on your experience so far ? Have you seen clear advantages with the 10 bits mode ?

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

If you look to MLraw threads you will see a similar opinion to yours. People were so excited about the new option of recording in 10bit Raw, but in reality they soon discovered that 10bit Raw isn't really as useful as they would have thought. 12bit Raw is kind of the minimum to be bothered shooting with and 14bit Raw really highlights the positives of shooting a file in Raw format. Obviously the GH5 isn't shooting Raw, but I would think a similar theory would apply (afterall 10bit is 10bit). You may get a slight bit of an advantage in colour grading but ultimately a well exposed 8bit h.246 file vs a well exposed 10bit h.246 file is going to be indistinguishable to the end viewer... I wish these companies would give us a proper Raw option. GH5 with 14bit Raw would be an amazing camera.