Why Do Some Cameras Create More of a Film Look?

Michael1

I'm an amateur on the market for a new camera for shooting videos (and preferably some stills with the same camera).  I've looked at a lot of online sample videos from various cameras, especially the Panasonic GH3 and Nikon D600.  One thing I have noticed is some camera models seem to have more videos with a distinct "film look".  Some people here call it "organic" (vs. camcorder look).  I've tried to mentally isolate what might create the film look, but I am coming up short.  Perhaps it is a combination of factors, such as limited depth of field, high dynamic range, a degree of softness, and maybe even the characteristic of the noise.  I'm just not sure.

My left brain says Andrew rates the GH3 as a much better video camera (and he mentions a lot of good reasons), but, damn, my right brain loves the film look that people seem to so easily get out of the "lesser" Nikon D600/610 (and is starting to override my left brain).

Can anyone shed some light what creates a "film look" with video, and why some cameras seem better at this than others?

Michael

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

Hah, it'd be wonderful is someone could actually break it down that simply. There's been pages and pages of discussion on many a forum about that very thing. I think it's subjective, tough to articulate, and tough to isolate variables. IE: The camera itself vs the lighting, framing, blocking etc etc...

Always fun to try and decipher though.

I think it's subjective, tough to articulate, and tough to isolate variables. IE: The camera itself vs the lighting, framing, blocking etc etc...