Canon 600D Video help?

s100cky

Hi All, Hope you can help with my newbie situation.

I’m trying to make some lovely sharp and nice looking HD video shots with my canon 600D. I’m using the stock 18-55mm lens, and although I know this isn’t the best lens to be using, my videos just look pretty rubbish. They don’t seem as sharp or crisp as I would expect. I’ve had a look over a few forums, and youtube to try and work out what I may be doing wrong, but at the minute I’m rather clueless.

As you can tell I’m rather new to all this, so not really up there with the technical stuff, (Which im slowly trying to learn).

I’ve included some photos of my settings? Hopefully I’m doing something wrong?

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

I routinely use Quick AF before pressing record. This flips down the mirror & hits focus just like when taking stills then flips the mirror out the way again. After pressing record you need to focus manually.

I really couldn't tell one or another if there was anything wrong with that video as YouTube compresses so badly. It looked OK just remember that all the Canon DSLRs are pretty soft & don't have anywhere near the resolution of a Panasonic GH2/GH3/G6 or even a proper camcorder. This is often an advantage as it is flattering on close-ups of faces.

Hi andy lee, 

In terms of focusing I half press the shutter button, to get into focus and then leave it? Do you suggest just doing a manual focus instead? I often wonder if i will nail the focus as its only a small screen? (maybe thats just me) When i look at the video the plants in the garden are really noticeable in a bad way, they have no sharpness to them at all. I have just bought a 50mm f.18 lens. Hoping this will give me a better look. 

Big thanks andy lee and nigelbb for the tips! Hopefully and slowly i will improve!