How to make a living making videos

Zach Ashcraft

I'd love to start a discussion and just see where it goes. Personally, I'm just curious as to what the people on this forum do, and what kind of careers are available for freelance videographers. I have a music degree so am pretty unfamiliar with the landscape of video careers.

I work part time as a production intern as a church, and additionally film and (mostly) photographic weddings for additional income. I feel like if I had to go full-time freelance I could, though it would certainly be a scary prospect. 

Is there part-time/full-time work readily available for skilled film-makers outside of hollywood? Do corporations usually contract out or do they have internal media teams? What kind of work have you all done in the past/present?

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

I believe all independent "creative" project work suffers the same business/financial limitations.

1. The ratio of clients to advertising dollars will be too low to justify advertising/marketing your way to a profitable business.  This is why so many buy a lot of equipment and advertising and soon you see their stuff for sale on Ebay.

2. All businesses succeed in either two ways.  "Right place and right time" (like you got into music videos when MTV started, or slow-mo video when it became hot, etc).  Or two, you are persistent and focused for a enough years to establish yourself.  Word of mouth is what gets you clients and it takes time, always more than you expect/want....need ;)

3. You need enough skill to be competent, but after that, too much effort in the art, versus, marketing, it detrimental financially.