Equipment Advice for someone just starting

deckitout

I have been shooting stills for some time but lately fancy capturing Video footage of my Grandchildren and family events etc. These would be edited on my iMac in iMovie.

I am a total novice when it comes to Video and have been trying to educate myself during the last few days.

My current kit is an Olympus EM5 with the Panasonic 2.8 12/35 and 35/100 lenses. I also have the 20/1.7 and 45/1.8

So I guess it would make sense to develop and use the equipment I have

My question is that I am going to be getting a second body and have been considering the EM1, GX7, GH3 and G6. Clearly the Panasonic's are better for Video but are they overkill for what I am going to be using them for. Will I notice the difference compared to my EM5

Any advice appreciated

Phil

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

For what you're doing there, probably not, the amazing stabilisation of the EM5 will be a more useful function than higher bit rates and so on.

Of all of those I'd either choose the EM1 so you're upgrading to something you'll be used to, still with the stabilisation, or the G6 for sharp slow motion video.

I'm an experienced photographer just trying to get serious about video, primarily of my 1 and 4 year old children and capturing short video clips to accompany stills while traveling (I travel quite a bit for work). I have OM-D EM5 and same lenses as you (but 17 and 25 instead of the 20/1.7 which I used to have).

I ended up buying a GH3 during the recent sale and have shot stills and video with it last two weeks or so. From a complete novice perspective, my observations are:

• GH3 is better at motion - even I can see how the OM-D breaks down with a quick pan or a fast running 4 year old. But for most of the things I video, OM-D is fine