Which ND filter should I buy?

/p/

On the market for an ND filter. Not sure whether I want a Vari ND or a set of circular ND's.. What brands are considered the best at the moment for both options? Is there a big difference in quality between a Vari ND and a set of reg ND's? 

I am mainly interested in small doco type work but will also venture into weddings (I have a lot of experience doing stills at weddings but never done video for any). Thanks.

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

Generally, variable density filters are discouraged due to lesser PQ, and risk of the "cross/x effect" if you use it at it's most extreme. However, obviously it can be very useful in a setting where lighting changes quickly. Here is an article you can check out;

http://www.learningdslrvideo.com/variable-nd-filter-shootout/

I'm sure there are similar shoot-outs for regular nd filters as well.

I'd be careful at saying "best brands". Prices vary wildly. You can pay from $10 to hundreds for a single filter, it depends on how much you are willing to spend but B+W makes good filters for sure. Usually keep in mind how expensive your lens is. If you spend $1000 on a lens, do you want to only spend $10 on a piece of glass in front of it?

I had a Lightcraft Fader ND Mark II before it got smashed into pieces while saving one of my lenses from the fall...

I noticed that it seemed to soften my shots by a slight amount, but not disturbingly much. Some of the more expensive variable ND:s are supposed to be sharper than the fader nd according to reviews. I think Dave Dugdale of learningdslrvideo has made a video comparison of a few different variable ND:s.