Grainy mid-range shadows

nitrospectide

I am new to the DSLR filmmaking thing, though in years past I shot a fair bit of DV, and before that some 16mm film.

I am testing out my workflow with my T2i, and I noticed that I am getting a lot of dancing grain in the mid-range shadows. I had read that keeping at or under 1600 ISO on this camera should produce a clean image, and this was shot at 800. How do I get a shot with shadows that don't fill up with grain? I've seen plenty of others get a nice cinematic look with plenty of shadows.

This is a clip that was shot at 1080p and was pulled into Premiere, snipped, and re-exported at 1080p using H.264. The grain looks just slightly more visible than in the original.

At issue is the shadowed beige wall in the background:

http://download.hexatrope.com/Lisa_Test.mp4

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

I will definitely check that out. I'd like to shoot the best footage I can in camera though, and wonder why this is happening. What are the issues at work here causing this? Do I just have to drop to a lower ISO to make the grain go away, or is it something else about the shot that is making it do this? Maybe shadows need to go darker and I have to just avoid mid-tone shadows? I'm not sure.

First off, embrace the grain in the original footage. Use settings in-camera that are as flat as possible (saturation, sharpness, noise reduction), and do the necessary corrections in post. I'm sure you can get excellent footage out of this camera. 

ps: there is a program being developed called windmotion (google it) that is good at fixing footage. You can check if the program has been optimized to work with your camera. If not, you may try to get in touch with the developer, provide samples and he will likely do so.