Why remove saturation in camera?

BrorSvensson

Removing the saturation in camera is one of the things which i've never really questioned or understood why you should do it until recently. What is the reason behind doing this? Wouldn't adding saturation in post vs in camera add more banding and similar? I understand for raw and 10 bit 422 cameras when you have a lot of leeway and are using lü†s, but on an 8bit 420 avdhd image i would only assume that it really isn't that good of an idea. 
Would love to hear the reasonings behind doing this.

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

I'm no expert, but I'll do my best. 

As I understand it, a luma (brightness) signal is an average/combination of the R, G, and B channels. While the overall brightness (luma) in one area of the frame may not be clipping on the histogram, one of the individual color channels may already have clipped, which causes lost information and strange color artifacts. 

If anyone who understands this better than me cares to chime in with clarifications, please do. 

Just now, TheRenaissanceMan said:

I'm no expert, but I'll do my best. 

As I understand it, a luma (brightness) signal is an average/combination of the R, G, and B channels. While the overall brightness (luma) in one area of the frame may not be clipping on the histogram, one of the individual color channels may already have clipped, which causes lost information and strange color artifacts. 

That makes sense, thanks you!

Guest Ebrahim Saadawi

It's absolutely essential to me to remove saturation whilst shooting to reduce chroma clipping. Especially Red channels. I did tests and you can add as much saturation in post as you can but you can't lower the saturation if the channels were clipped. So I reduce saturation. 

11 minutes ago, Ebrahim Saadawi said: