Looking for advice on Helios, Mir and Jupiter for Iscorama and EF mount

jgharding

Hello all,

I have a pre 36 Iscorama and Redstan clamp.

I'm looking for the classic trio of simple characterful lenses everyone recommends after searching the threads here: Helios, Mir and Jupiter.

However, since there are so many versions of them all I'm confused as to which ones will indeed convert to EF.

Some, it seems, were made for Leica M style rangefinders, and won't convert. Does anyone know which to avoid and which are gems?

Also, is there a lens of the period that is ismilar, but ever longer focal length, than 85mm, say 100mm or 120mm too?

I gather the silver ones are the most "flarey" but some i think are rangefinders? I'm a little lost in this specific department as I'm new to the Iscorama. I've wanted one for about 5 years or more though so it's very exciting!

EOSHD Pro Color 5 for Sony cameras EOSHD Z LOG for Nikon CamerasEOSHD C-LOG and Film Profiles for All Canon DSLRs

Hey man! I have a set like that and I picked them all with m42 mounts since m42 to EF is a very cheap and common adapter. The longer focal length to match the set is the Tair 11A, 135mm f/2.8, 20 aperture blades, beautiful results.

They have a few different versions but I think just the Helios is numbered (the one everyone loves is the 44-2). About the Jupiter 9 and Mir 1B, I've read somewhere that the ones with "finger cuts" ( http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/3144/jupiter9.jpg ) in the focus ring have less coatings, while the regular, round ones ( http://www.pentaxforums.com/userreviews/data/83/IMGP3762_2.jpg ) are less prone to flaring.

These versions also have preset aperture, which makes them naturally declicked, while more modern versions have clicked stops (the Helios 44 for sure, since I had a few).