Jump to content

Close
Photo

Custom firmware and video for Sony Alpha A55 + Wiki


  • Please log in to reply

#21
Kuliado

Posted 14 August 2012 - 03:27 PM

Kuliado

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

UPD I'm back in game :) Thank you unknown Japan developer for an ability to restore my brick!


Unknown Japan developer? Sony backs up the game? Well, they have to compete with hacked 7d and GH2 somehow, this makes some sense.

#22
Someone1.00

Posted 14 August 2012 - 03:51 PM

Someone1.00

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts

Unknown Japan developer? Sony backs up the game? Well, they have to compete with hacked 7d and GH2 somehow, this makes some sense.


Don't get you. I did this all alone. No any help from any manufacturer. No any contacts with any developers. I just thanks that developer for error check procedure and restoring possibility.

#23
Jah

Posted 14 August 2012 - 03:53 PM

Jah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
LOL that makes him guilty anyway :) But still thanks to him :)

#24
yakinbindas

Posted 28 January 2013 - 03:54 AM

yakinbindas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Hello all... please help me..!! I have A55 - Japan only camera. I had updated it with first custom firmware made by Someone100 and now my camera is having firmware version 2.01. Now, I want to patch my camera with English firmware; which is also ver2.01 unfortunately. Hence as my camera is already updated to firmware ver2.01, I am unable to patch it with English language modification firmware, SPUpdater simply skips the process saying "update is not required".



#25
yakinbindas

Posted 02 February 2013 - 12:38 PM

yakinbindas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

It's really sad that no one is helping me in very simple task in just updating firmware version from 2.01 to 2.02.



#26
2trickpony

Posted 03 February 2013 - 10:32 AM

2trickpony

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Yakinbindas

 

Is there any way you can downgrade to an earlier firmware first and then try upgrading to 2.02?

 

Sorry but I am an Nex-7 guy so cant really help you much  :(



#27
richg101

Posted 03 February 2013 - 07:41 PM

richg101

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,145 posts
  • LocationBristol. UK

It's really sad that no one is helping me in very simple task in just updating firmware version from 2.01 to 2.02.

 

factory reset?



#28
yakinbindas

Posted 04 February 2013 - 05:23 AM

yakinbindas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

@2trickpony: as "Someone 1.00" said in his first post, the process is not reversible... so can't downgrade current firmware version.

@richg101: how to do factory reset??? is there any option available?



#29
richg101

Posted 04 February 2013 - 03:08 PM

richg101

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,145 posts
  • LocationBristol. UK

yes.  go into menu, setup, reset default     I am not sure if it will help, but it's worth a try.   



#30
yakinbindas

Posted 05 February 2013 - 06:10 AM

yakinbindas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

yes.  go into menu, setup, reset default     I am not sure if it will help, but it's worth a try.   

@richg101: though it only resets all settings.. tried that... nothing happened... firmware version is still 2.01



#31
yakinbindas

Posted 05 February 2013 - 11:09 AM

yakinbindas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Some updates here. I've being able to force the original updater to treat the modified firmware of an a55 as version 3. Don't checked this yet. It's too late and i want to check everything up. Updater executable was not modified.

5026f0c477f38_a55update.png

Well. For now i have only 254 attempts to play with firmware inside the a55.

UPD: I've found a minor version. Ver.3 is not actual anymore. You can check this by yourself via custom firmware. No need to update camera.

Can you please let me know how to achieve this?



#32
vaci24

Posted 07 March 2013 - 09:54 AM

vaci24

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Edited by Someone 1.00

Currently hacked cameras list: A33, A55, Nex3, Nex5 and VG10.

First custom firmware for a55.
Firmware replaces Setup menu -> Demo mode item with "Someone1." string (English menu only).
Version number will be 2.01

A55 firmware patcher https://rapidshare.c...9/FWPatcher.zip


Please note that this process is not reversible yet.

Usage:
download a firmware http://esupport.sony...LOC=3#/howtoTab into some specific folder
unpack all the content with 7zip (detailed guide https://dl.dropbox.c...king/index.html)
make sure that FirmwareData_user_21.10.02.2011033010_203_02_loader.dat exists in SLT-A55V2_Update1105a subfolder.
download, extract and run patcher
select FirmwareData_user_21.10.02.2011033010_203_02_loader.dat and press go
run SPUFirmwareUpdater.exe from SLT-A55V2_Update1105a subfolder

I hope this instruction will be polished and updated soon.



I guess this video is not necessary anymore.

http://vimeo.com/47368582


Here is the hacker demonstrating how it possible to open the firmware of the NEX 5 in a HEX editor. The camera is based on a Linux CE powered operating system.
Unconfirmed reports are that 46Mbit bitrate is possible in 1080p similar to the GH2, which would be a very nice improvement on the standard 24Mbit and yield more detail too.

Hi can you upload firmware patcher again?? Link on rapidshare doesn´t work. I need it so much. Thanks !!!



#33
MFor

Posted 09 March 2013 - 02:31 PM

MFor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Hello.

 

Also please for patcher... I need only 1/3 EV ISO steps and turn off noise reduction. :)



#34
BerndA

Posted 21 April 2013 - 10:50 AM

BerndA

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Hello,

 

File its DOWN can you ReUpload this? :)



#35
icewraithuk

Posted 03 May 2013 - 01:55 PM

icewraithuk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Hi

 

Could someone please post how to reset to the default firmware or otherwise how the change the FWPatcher version? I mistakenly uploaded the base hacked FW when what I really wanted to do was upload the Jap2Eng one, now it won't let me update again as they both show as 2.01....

 

TIA

Craig



#36
William Cody Winter

Posted 05 September 2013 - 08:58 PM

William Cody Winter

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Looks interesting, but need's A57 support.



#37
lt.hartly

Posted 09 November 2014 - 11:56 PM

lt.hartly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

can someone 1.00 repost the firmware for the sony a55



#38
lt.hartly

Posted 11 November 2014 - 02:11 AM

lt.hartly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

dose anyone have a copy of this firmware im dieing to get my hands on it???






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users